The Coopers' Company and Coborn School



The Art Department comprises of three members of staff: Mrs Kim Tiffin (Head of Art), Miss Martha Ellis (Teacher of Art) and Mr Gregor Claude (Teacher of Art).

We have three well equipped art studios with facilities for printing, ceramics and sculpture as well as painting and drawing, plus a purpose-built sixth form studio. The studio encourages the Sixth Form to work more independently and gives them a feel of art school experience. To this end the studio has individual work areas, a specialist library and a bank of computers.

The Art Department believes that an art education develops the creative and alternative thinking skills required to interpret the world and more fully participate in it. As a department we look to develop the skills necessary for students to take their ideas forward and express themselves in an ever-developing visual world.

Teaching and learning has always been paramount in the department and SOW are constantly being reviewed and improved. We have an open house policy which allows students to work in the art rooms throughout lunchtimes and after school. The department encourages a varied and exciting extra-curricular programme with students participating in a range of competitions and educational visits. Art and Design examination results are consistently above the national average.